This is the "Home" page of the "American History Civil Rights Chronology Project (Fuller 12th Grade)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History Civil Rights Chronology Project (Fuller 12th Grade)  

Discover the historical background for the study of the civil rights movement in America.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2011 URL: http://demo.libguides.com/fullercivilrights Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Assignment

Civil Rights Chronology Project

Senior Interdisciplinary Seminar

 

This assignment will enable you to work as individuals as well as a group to discover the historical background for our study of the Civil Rights Movement. In the process, you should begin to encounter resources for information as well as interconnections of ideas and themes.

 

Instructions:

 

  1. Each of you will be assigned THREE of the persons, places or events from the list on this guide. Using available research tools, you should discover the details AND significance of your chronology items. Please make use of the internet to discover details. You may also find your American History book or reference sources helpful. Use at least 2 dependable sources and record the citations. What is still controversial about that event or person?
  2. Print out a visual representation for your item that is suitable for a class time line on the Civil Rights Movement. Pictures, cartoons, slogans, or other symbols are possibilities.
  3. You should also be ready to do a brief (5 min.) presentation on each of your items and their significance. Hand in your typed presentation report (at least a half-page) with the citations at the end. Your grade will be partially based on the strength of your sources.
  4. Presentations will begin on Monday, August 29th.

 

 

Need research help? Email the library team!

 

Significant Persons, Places, and Events

Significant Persons, Places, and Events:

 

Dixiecrat Party

Plessy v. Ferguson

Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka County

Publishing of W.E.B. DuBois’s Souls of Black Folk

Montgomery Bus Boycott

Little Rock Central High School

A.Z. Kelley v. Nashville Board of Education

James Lawson firing at Vanderbilt

Nashville sit-ins

Freedom Rides

Birmingham Sunday School Bombing

University of Alabama (George Wallace, Autherine Lucy)

March on Washington 1963

Malcolm X Assassination

1964 Civil Rights Act

1965 Voting Rights Act

1968 Civil Rights Act

SNCC

Black Panthers

MLK, Jr. Assassination

Watts Riots

James Meredith enrolls at University of Mississippi

Emmett Till murder

Medger Evers murder

Fannie Lou Hamer

March from Selma to Montgomery (E. Pettis Bridge)

SCLC

MIA

Freedom Summer (Deaths of Chaney, Goodman, and Schwerner)

Library Databases

The library subscribes to databases that are unavailable on the web. They can be extremely helpful to you in your search for information for this project. You can search by subject or alphabetically.

Primary Sources for U.S. History

What is a primary source?

A primary source is first hand evidence. It was there at the time of an event. It is contemporary to the period being studied. Examples of primary sources are speeches, letters, songs, legislation, court decisions, journals/diaries, interviews, artifacts, autobiographies, and photographs.

 

  • Primary Sources Wiki
    Be sure to scroll down and find the "Event Specific" section, where you will find several sites concerning civil rights.
  • American Memory Collection
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
  • National Archives
    The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever.
  • PBS
    Interested in finding information about a particular person, organization, event, or element of American history? Twelve subject categories help you explore various themes and locate the facts you're after and provides a list of topics and people and the webisodes in which you can find their stories. Or simply enter a word or phrase about the issue you are researching.

NoodleTools Link

Set up a NoodleTools account (if you don't already have one).  Then create a project page, under which you may create citations and use notecards for this project.  MAKE SURE you know your username and password.  Log in before you leave the library, and if you can't get in one of the librarians can reset your password.

Library Books

Check Destiny, the MBA library's online catalog (OPAC), has books on your subject.  Be sure before you go to the shelves that you have written down the call number.  Ask one of the library staff for help if you need it!

If you create an account in Destiny, you can create a customized list of books and websites.  Interested? See Mr. Quinn or Mrs. Klausner.

 

Websites

Destiny, MBA's online catalog, has preselected websites on Webpath Express.  In addition to summaries for each website, you may filter the content by grade level and domain.

Online Encyclopedias

While general in nature, encyclopedias often provide a starting point to obtain a general overview of an event or a person.  

Ebooks

This link will take you to the library's ebooks, which are in the boxes at the bottom of the page.  SPECIFICALLY check "MyiLibrary" as one of the ebooks is on the history of civil rights in America.

Off-Campus Access to Databases and Ebooks

Refer to this if you need usernames and passwords when not on campus.  You must log in to the MBA website to see this list.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip