This is the "Welcome" page of the "The Erie Canal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Erie Canal  

Students, teachers, and parents - welcome to the 4th Grade guide to the Erie Canal!
Last Updated: Nov 27, 2009 URL: http://demo.libguides.com/erie_canal Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the 4th Grade guide to the Erie Canal.  The Erie Canal played an important role in New York State history.  Below you'll find a description of the different resources that will help you learn more about the Erie Canal:

  • Books:  these non-fiction books are also called reference books.  They contain facts, and are useful to use for researching a topic.  Click on the title for a complete record of the book.
  • Encyclopedias:  an encyclopedia is a reference work that has articles on a wide variety of subjects, like World Book.  An encyclopedia can also be on one subject, and contain more in-depth articles.  Encyclopedias may not have much detailed information, but are good starting points for your research.
  • Article Database:  an article database is listing of magazine or journal articles; some databases may also contain information on encyclopedia entries.  You can search a database for the information you are looking for - "Erie Canal" would be a good search term to begin with.
  • Journals:  journals are similar to magazines, except they contain factual information and no advertising.
  • Websites:  the websites on this guide have useful and interesting information.  Click on the links to find out!
  • Videos:  watch the clips on the video page to find out more about the Erie Canal, and listen to the official song of the Erie Canal, "15 Miles".

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mrs. Squier
Contact Info
Please stop in and see me in the school library!
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip